Beyond the Blank Page

My Journey to Telling the Untold

Bout of Books 8.0 Day 4

on August 22, 2013

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 19th and runs through Sunday, August 25th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 8.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Day 4 has been GREAT for me. I finished my first book and loooved it. There will be a video review coming soon, but if you want to see one now, you can check out my Goodreads review now! I will put it at the very bottom of this post.

 

No update video tonight. There will be a double update video tomorrow!

Time Devoted to Reading: 4+ hours a day

My Goals:
-Read an average of 150 pages a day (1050 pages over the week)
-Read 3+ books
-Complete at least one challenge

Books to Read:
Memory’s Door by James L. Rubart (353 pages)
Divergent by Veronica Roth (487 pages)
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (316 pages)

Updates:

Thursday

Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Number of pages I’ve read today: 86 / 150
Number of pages I’ve read total: 336 / 1050
Books: Memory’s Door by James L Rubart, Divergent by Veronica Roth
Thoughts: Memory’s Door ended just as strong as it started. Super excited to finally be starting Divergent! Loving surprise social hour!
Challenges:  Book Road Trip Challenge:
1. New York City – City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
2. Palm Springs – Bloodlines by Richelle Mead
3. England – Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare
4. Colorado – Soul’s Gate by James L Rubart
5. Seattle – Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead
6. Paris – Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
7. Amsterdam- The Fault in our Stars by  John Green.
Other challenge: I Spy Challenge- from upper left to lower right: (Anna Dressed in Blood = fog, Coral Moon = Moon, Faefever = road, Saving Juliet = Sunglasses, Chance of Ghosts = snowflakes, Christmas Wishes = Christmas tree, Game of Thrones = sword, Divergent = flames, Twisted = heels, Indigo Spell = tattoo, The Reason = lightning, & City of Bones = City skyline):

Wednesday

Number of books I’ve read today: .75
Total number of books I’ve read: .75
Number of pages I’ve read today: 159/ 150
Number of pages I’ve read total: 299 / 1050
Books: Memory’s Door by James L Rubart
Thoughts: Amazing, page turning book with some great points. Super fun experience!
Challenges: Top 5 TBR (Beautiful Creatures, Delirium, Divergent, The Fault in Our Stars, The Darkest Minds) & Top 5 Buy Now (The Darkest Minds, Mockingjay, Cuckoo’s Calling, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Uglies). Book Spine Poetry (pictured in last post).

Tuesday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1/4
Total number of books I’ve read: 1/4
Number of pages I’ve read today: 127/150
Number of pages I’ve read total: 140/1050
Books: Memory’s Door by James L Rubart
Thoughts: Loving my book! Super suspensful & edge of the seat. Excited to be catching up! Loving the making of new friends aspect as well.
Challenges: Re-Title a book. Memory’s Door re-titled When Warriors Riding Are Attacked.

Monday
Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Total number of books I’ve read: 0
Number of pages I’ve read today: 13/150
Number of pages I’ve read total: 13/1050
Books: Attempted Trick or Treat Murder, Memory’s Door, & First Grave on the Right
Thoughts: Wishing I could get in the reading zone.
Challenges: Pair-A-Thon (pair drink/food with your book!) Sutter Homes Moscato w/ Trick or Treat Murder.

Memory's DoorMemory’s Door by James L. Rubart
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Each Warrior is dealing with regret on one level or another and they will all be forced to face it before the last page. They will also be facing The Wolf, and this will take them on the ride of their lives.

If you loved Soul’s Gate you will definitely want to pick up Memory’s Door. You may be forced to deal with some things you’ve shoved down, but you will be glad that you did. This book also deals with a fairly controvertial subject, but it is one of the many reasons that I loved it.

For those of us that can relate, this book can be life changing and touching in ways you never realized. James L. Rubart’s books are much more than entertainment for many, and this one is no different.

This book hit home on more than one level for me. I will warn you, it is an intense book, even more intense than his first in my opinion. It is also so well worth it.

View all my reviews

2 responses to “Bout of Books 8.0 Day 4

  1. Divergent is SO amazing!! Gahh – I honestly loved it more than Hunger Games. Roth is just brilliant. Happy reading these last 2 BOB days 🙂

Leave a Reply

